REGISTER AN ACCOUNT
Who's Online - 0 members and 198 guests

Sugden Centre and Manchester University

Users viewing topic: & 1 Guest

welshieIconSugden Centre and Manchester University28-06-2007 @ 19:00 
Member 96, 3 posts
Hey everyone,

I only recently came across this website - up until then I didn't think there was anything remotely related to powerlifting going on at Manchester uni!

I'm currently a student at Manchester and am getting into powerlifting (having come from a background of olympic lifting). I actually train at Fitness First Gorton at the moment but I'd definitely be interested in training at the Sugden next academic year and maybe even starting up a uni/AU powerlifting club/team.

Main purpose of this message is just to see whether people would be interested in this, how many manchester uni students are involved and to maybe arrange to have a chat about forming a club/team (although I realise most of the students will be home for the summer now - unless you're a medic like me and have another 2 weeks!!!)

I'll check this forum for responses but my email is sam.welsh@student.manchester.ac.uk if anyone needs to contact me directly.

Cheers,

Sam
tokarIcon...28-06-2007 @ 19:01 
Невыносимо Высокомерный (RIP)
Member 11, 965 posts
SQ 190, BP 140, DL 255
585.0 kgs @ 95kgs UnEq
There are not many of us who are Manchester University students! Some of us have been and are no longer, and some of us never were in the first place. For most of us who train at Sugden it's just a (reasonably) convenient place to train.
JoniIcon...28-06-2007 @ 20:01 
left the country satisfied
Member 10, 19241 posts
SQ 240, BP 150, DL 270
660.0 kgs @ 107kgs UnEq
hey man, welcome to the forums!

i am a staff member at the Uni.

We were looking into setting up an official club two years back but it fizzled. It would be a great idea though because you could get some funding, maybe free transport to comps, and take part in the Uni PL comps.