REGISTER AN ACCOUNT
Who's Online - 0 members and 201 guests
You are here: HomeForumDownset → View All Posts

View All Posts: Downset

» starting oly lifting at 25 (Go to post)21-10-2016 @ 15:10 
I started training almost almost 2 years ago, before that i only practiced sports when i was a kid(martial arts ). I didnt have a coach when i learned deadlifting squats bench and press. If i Deadlift now id probably make some light mistakes but not bad enough to limit strength. Olympic weightlifting seems like you need to practice technique before to add weight. Now i am learning with only the bar and doing some squats and front squats as assistance. I am not in a hurry but i was just curious. Many learn doing it in a few months, for others it takes years. The coach told me i have good mobility at least Grin
» starting oly lifting at 25 (Go to post)21-10-2016 @ 14:42 
Started weightlifting with the coach this week. She made me start with the snatch and only a broomstick.
I was interested to know how long did it take for you weightlifters to learn the technique and start adding weight on the bar?
» starting oly lifting at 25 (Go to post)15-10-2016 @ 13:27 
Funky_monkey said:If you're healthy and your joints are fine, then no reason why not. The only way to find out is to give it a shot. Train for a year or so before giving up.
Mark Felix is in his 50s and still going strong, abd as far as I know, injury free.

The only thing I can say is look after your joints. Invest in GOOD sleeves.

Thanks. Yes i have been squatting and deadlifting for about 2 years and still didnt have problems with knees or bad back injuries. I have pretty good ankle and shoulder mobility i still have to work on hip mobility though. Trying to do at least 10 minutes of third world squat stretching every day.
About sleeves, rehbands from strengthshop are ok?
» starting oly lifting at 25 (Go to post)14-10-2016 @ 18:34 
Thanks for the nice words guys.